Clover Kiosk: features, cost and limits | Maple Blog

Clover Kiosk: features, cost and limits

By Maple Team · Published

Clover Kiosk pairs a 24-inch order screen with an 8-inch payment terminal and printer. Clover prints no price, so here is what it lists and what to ask.

Clover Kiosk is a single self-order unit: a 24-inch touch screen for ordering, an 8-inch payment terminal and a built-in receipt printer. It pulls your menu from your Clover POS and sends orders to your kitchen display or printer. Clover does not print a price for it. Its kiosk offer page says "Contact us for custom pricing."

That leaves a restaurant owner with a spec sheet and a sales call. This guide sets out what Clover's own product pages and blog say about the kiosk, what they leave for the quote, and a checklist to take into that call.

What does Clover Kiosk include?

These specs come from Clover's Clover Kiosk offer page.

PartWhat Clover lists
Screens24" order touch screen and 8" payment touch screen
PaymentsContactless, chip, swipe and debit PIN
ReceiptsBuilt-in thermal dot receipt printer
ConnectivityWiFi, Ethernet and LTE
SecurityClover Security end-to-end encryption
MountingCountertop out of the box; wall mount with Clover's optional bracket or any third-party 100mm VESA mount; floor stand accessory with high and low settings
Support24/7 support, from setup to troubleshooting

Clover says the floor stand's high and low settings are there for people who are non-disabled or use wheelchairs. A March 2024 Clover blog post introducing the kiosk adds an anti-glare, anti-fingerprint screen, screen magnification, volume control, a headphone jack and a USB port for assistive technology devices.

What does Clover Kiosk cost?

Clover publishes no price for the kiosk. The offer page lists "Contact us for custom pricing" and a sales number. Two other points on Clover's pages affect the quote:

  • Clover's footer states that use of Clover requires a Merchant Processing Agreement, so card processing terms come with the kiosk.
  • The promotion on the same page, a free Clover Go or a one-cent-a-month rental of a Compact, Flex or Flex Pocket, does not name the Kiosk. It also requires a 3-year agreement and a minimum annual processing volume, and ends December 31, 2026.

Because the price comes in a quote, ask for each line on its own:

Line on the quoteWhy ask
Kiosk unit, bought or rentedClover shows no public purchase or rental price.
Floor stand or wall bracketClover lists both as accessories.
Monthly software or plan feeClover's kiosk page does not state one.
Card processing ratesA Merchant Processing Agreement is required.
Contract length and early termination feesClover's promotional rentals use 3-year agreements and carry early termination fees; ask what applies to a kiosk.
LTE dataLTE is listed as a connection option; ask what it costs.

How does it work with your Clover POS?

Clover's blog says the kiosk connects to your Clover POS and pulls your menu from it, which keeps items and prices in sync. Orders show on your Kitchen Display System or print to your kitchen printer the same way counter orders do. You can turn categories, menu items and modifiers on or off for the kiosk with a web-based tool, and add your own promotions to a content loop that runs while the kiosk is idle.

The same post names new quick-service restaurants as a fit and says the kiosk works with Clover's quick-service POS. A September 2024 Clover buying guide adds that kiosk, counter and online orders are recorded in the same system. It says you can adjust the kiosk menu to highlight seasonal specials, meal combos or high-margin items.

How do you set it up?

For a countertop install, Clover's offer page says you take the kiosk out of the box, put it on the counter and follow the guided setup. Before you start it, get these ready:

  1. Choose the spot and mount: countertop, wall bracket or VESA mount, or floor stand. Plan the height for guests who use wheelchairs.
  2. Choose the connection: WiFi, Ethernet or LTE.
  3. Clean up the Clover menu: guest-friendly item names, prices and modifiers, since the kiosk pulls them from your POS.
  4. Decide which categories, items and modifiers the kiosk shows.
  5. Decide where kiosk orders go: the Kitchen Display System or a kitchen printer.
  6. Load any specials or promotions for the idle screen.
  7. Place test orders with a modifier, a card payment and a receipt, then check the kitchen ticket.

What limits should you ask about?

Clover's public kiosk pages list few limits, so settle these in the demo or quote:

  • Does the kiosk need a separate Clover POS device at the location?
  • Can the kiosk take cash, or is it card only?
  • What happens to ordering and payments if the internet goes down?
  • Can the kiosk suggest add-ons at checkout, and how do you choose them?
  • How long do menu changes take to reach the kiosk?
  • Are there limits on menu size or on modifier depth?
  • Can the kiosk handle age-restricted items?

How does it compare with Square and Toast kiosks?

Each vendor builds its kiosk to run with its own POS, so the kiosk you can add depends on the POS you run. If you are choosing a POS as well, here is what each vendor publishes.

QuestionClover KioskSquare KioskToast Kiosk
Public priceNone; custom pricingHardware $149; app $50 per device a month on Square Plus or $30 on Square PremiumNone; quote
Screen24-inch order screen plus 8-inch payment screenYour own compatible iPad in Square's mountToast Flex or Elo terminal
Receipt printerBuilt inPrints through a companion POS deviceOptional printer at the kiosk
Payments if the internet dropsNot stated on Clover's kiosk pagesOffline payments not supported with the kiosk appNew kiosk experience works in offline mode

Sources: Square's kiosk page, Square's setup guide, Toast's kiosk setup article and Toast's Kiosk Mode article.

Where do other ordering options fit?

Clover's buying guide notes that online orders land in the same system as kiosk and counter orders, so online ordering is one route alongside the kiosk. Voice kiosks are another: the guest says the order at the counter.

Maple, which publishes this guide, writes phone orders into Clover through its Pro plan; see Maple's Clover integration. Its voice ordering kiosk is in early access with a small number of restaurants, is priced per unit, and has no public price.

Published by Maple. This AI-assisted guide combines Clover's own kiosk offer page and Clover blog posts with an original quote worksheet and setup checklist. It does not report hands-on testing of Clover Kiosk, a Clover price, or any Clover customer result.