OpenTable alternatives for restaurants: prices, trade-offs and how to switch
By Maple Team · Published
Leaving OpenTable, or weighing it before you sign? Printed prices for Resy, Yelp Guest Manager, Eat App and others, an invoice worksheet and a switching checklist.
If you want to leave OpenTable to stop paying per cover, start with Resy or Yelp Guest Manager: both print a flat monthly price and say they charge no cover fees. If you run Toast, look at Toast Tables. If you run a group and care most about guest marketing, get a SevenRooms quote. Eat App's paid tiers start at $99 a month.
Before you move, work out what OpenTable costs you now and what would stop working without it. Covers from OpenTable's diner network, your guest list, the booking buttons on Google and your website, and any phone tool that books into OpenTable all need a plan.
What does OpenTable cost you now?
Your own invoices hold the number that matters. OpenTable's billing help says the Billing history tab keeps invoices and cover reports for the past 12 months, and each invoice has a cover CSV listing the reservations billed on it.
- Download the last 12 invoices and add up the totals.
- From the cover CSVs, count billable covers by month. Note your busiest and quietest months.
- List the add-ons you pay for. OpenTable's plans and add-ons help names three plans, Basic, Core and Pro, and add-ons such as Premium Communications.
- Add Stripe fees on card holds and deposits, which OpenTable's booking policy help says it requires.
- Put that yearly total next to the alternatives below.
| Yearly plan cost | Printed price | Twelve months |
|---|---|---|
| Your OpenTable total | From your invoices | Sum of the last 12 invoices |
| Eat App Core | Eat App Core, $199/mo on monthly billing | $199 × 12 = $2,388 |
| Yelp Guest Manager | Yelp's range, $129 to $349/month | $129 × 12 = $1,548 to $349 × 12 = $4,188 |
| Resy Platform | Resy Platform, $289/month | $289 × 12 = $3,468 |
| Resy Platform 360 | Resy Platform 360, $459/month | $459 × 12 = $5,508 |
These are plan fees only. Add payment processing, setup fees and add-ons from each quote before you decide.
Which OpenTable alternatives should you look at?
Each row comes from the vendor's own pages. The fourth column shows which of four AI phone tools (Maple, Slang AI, Yelp Host and SevenRooms Voice AI) list that system on their own sites. A phone agent that books into OpenTable may not book into the replacement.
| Alternative | Printed price | Cover fees | Listed by those phone tools | Start here if |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Resy | Platform $289/month; Platform 360 $459/month | None, per Resy | None of the four | You want a flat bill and American Express diners |
| Resy powered by Tock | Essential $289/month plus 3% of prepayments; Premium $459/month plus 2% | None, per Resy | None of the four | You sell prepaid tastings or events |
| Yelp Guest Manager | From $129 to $349/month on Yelp's page | None, per Yelp | Yelp Host; Slang AI lists Yelp | Guests find you on Yelp, and walk-ins matter |
| SevenRooms | Quote; one-time setup fee; transaction fee on pre-sales | Says it charges no reservation fees | SevenRooms Voice AI; Slang AI | You run a group and want CRM and marketing in one place |
| Toast Tables | Not printed on the product page | Not stated | None of the four | You run Toast POS and seat mostly walk-ins |
| Eat App | Lite $99/mo, Core $199/mo, Pro $389/mo on monthly billing; free plan up to 100 guests a month | Not stated on the pricing page | None of the four | You want a printed price and a 14-day trial |
Sources: Resy plans and pricing, Yelp Guest Manager, SevenRooms pricing, Toast Tables, Eat App pricing and Slang AI pricing.
What does each alternative do well?
Resy says it has more than 60 million registered users worldwide and gives eligible American Express card members a Resy Credit at US Resy restaurants. Tock, which American Express also owns, now sits inside Resy; in August 2026 Resy added Tock venues to its app. The Tock-based plans suit ticketed dinners and wineries.
Yelp Guest Manager lists your tables on Yelp, Reserve with Google, Apple Maps and ChatGPT, and runs a waitlist with text alerts and card holds. Yelp offers up to 60 days free for new customers with five or fewer locations. Its page also says annual contracts carry an early termination fee if you cancel during the 12-month term: $600 on the Basic plan and $1,500 on the Plus plan.
SevenRooms, now a DoorDash company, is built around guest profiles and marketing, with add-ons for email, text, events and Voice AI that books, changes and cancels reservations inside SevenRooms. Its pricing FAQ says restaurants go live within a few weeks after one-on-one onboarding.
Toast Tables runs alongside Toast POS, so the host sees which tables have ordered and paid. Toast's help center says the base tier handles up to 25 reservations a month and Toast Tables Plus lifts that cap.
Eat App prints monthly prices for each tier, offers a free plan for up to 100 guests a month, and lets you try any paid plan free for 14 days.
What do you lose or keep when you leave OpenTable?
- Network covers. Guests who found you on OpenTable's app will not see you there. Check your cover CSVs to see how many came that way.
- Guest data. OpenTable's guestbook export downloads a CSV with names, phone numbers, emails, opt-in status, visit history, upcoming visits, notes and tags. Export all guest profiles, and ask the new vendor how it imports them and how it handles guests who did not opt in to marketing.
- Future bookings. Decide who moves reservations already on the book, and keep both systems open until those dates pass or the new vendor confirms it moved them.
- Booking buttons. Replace the widget on your website and the buttons on Google, Facebook and Instagram. OpenTable bills bookings from its Facebook and Instagram buttons as Restaurant Network covers, per its social booking help.
- Deposits and card holds. Rebuild your policies in the new system and tell guests with deposits already taken how you will honor them.
- Phone bookings. If an AI phone agent books into OpenTable, check it supports the new system first.
What is the switching order?
- Pull 12 months of OpenTable invoices and cover CSVs.
- Get written quotes from two alternatives, with every fee on one page.
- Export the guestbook and test the import in the new system.
- Set up the floor plan, policies and texts, and train hosts on a quiet shift.
- Run one busy night on the new system while OpenTable still holds existing bookings.
- Switch the website, Google and social buttons on the same day, then check each one with a test booking.
- Read your OpenTable agreement for notice terms, and cancel only after the last old booking has passed.
Our guide to your restaurant's details on Google covers the listing checks for step 6.
Should you stay on OpenTable instead?
Staying can make sense. If many covers come from OpenTable's network, or you use tools that plug into it, changing plan may cost less than moving. OpenTable's help explains how to change plans, including a downgrade through its support team. Its August 2026 press release says it has more than 200 partners, including more than 20 voice AI partners that book tables by phone.
Maple sells a phone tool that books into OpenTable. Maple Pro books, changes and cancels reservations on OpenTable and takes phone orders into supported POS systems, at $350/month on monthly billing or $220/month on annual billing. Maple's integrations page lists OpenTable as its reservation system, so if Maple books your phone reservations, check with us before you move. The Maple OpenTable page lists what to test.
Published by Maple, which sells AI phone answering that books reservations on OpenTable. This AI-assisted guide combines the vendors' own pricing, product and help pages with an original invoice worksheet and switching checklist. It does not rank the alternatives, quote OpenTable's prices or report a test of any system.
Evaluate Maple for your restaurant
Compare Voice and Pro pricing · Check your POS integration · Read customer stories
Want Maple answering every call?
Get a free demo